The transformation of the large house in the centre of the village of Couvet springs from a fascination for its history and the several evolutions that it has experienced over the years.
Built in 1790, the house has been enlarged and transformed multiple times: home, distillery, pharmacy, offices have all taken place within these robust stone walls.
The introduction of new uses in the house is yet another layer to be added to its rich history. To understand the existing, reuse and reinterpret the elements of the past that have become outdated and obsolete.
The large circular opening punctuates the facade that lines the street, whilst resonating with the eye of the church that it faces. Inside, the new additions become an inevitable part of the daily functioning of the house: the new kitchen, stairs, entrance hall, buffet room and technical spaces are spread amongst the different parts of the house, the different periods of construction. The building becomes the meeting place for the village chaps after a long day of work.
Architekt/Planer Comte Meuwly, Architekten ETH SIA Sàrl Luegislandstrasse 105 8051 Zürich
Architekt/Planer Chevroulet Axel Architectes Lüegislandstrasse 105 8051 Zürich
Architekt/Planer MacIver-Ek Chevroulet + Comte/Meuwly, Architekten ETH SIA Sàrl Luegislandstrasse 105 8051 Zürich
Comte Meuwly, Architekten ETH SIA Sàrl Luegislandstrasse 105 8051 Zürich